Published On: October 14th, 2020

Keep Australia Beautiful has announced the winners of the 2020 Australian Sustainable Communities -Tidy Towns Awards.

Running nationally since 1990, the Australian Sustainable Communities – Tidy Towns Awards have evolved to encompass projects and initiatives with a focus on environmental sustainability and resource management to reflect a growing awareness of the importance of community-led environmental action. They set out to acknowledge the hard work undertaken by individuals and groups in rural communities and share these best practices and ideas to improve Australia’s vibrant rural towns. The awards consist of nine special category awards followed by an overall National winner.

The Victorian finalist, Beechworth was announced as the overall winner of the 2020 Australian Sustainable Communities – Tidy Towns Awards, at an online event held on 14 October 2020.

Traditionally, the 2019 overall winner, Santa Teresa (Ltyentye Apurte), Northern Territory, would have hosted year’s awards event. Due to the unprecedented circumstances brought on by COVID-19 pandemic, however, the 2020 Awards Ceremony was held online.

The finalist for New South Wales, Murrurundi was awarded winner of the Environmental Sustainability – Water category.

Australian Sustainable Communities – Tidy Towns judge Gail Langley applauded Murrurundi’s many water management and sustainability measures undertaken during the recently prolonged drought which saw the town placed on level 6 water restrictions lasting more than 18 months.

“The Murrurundi Public School, which has a great track record of environmental achievements, received outstanding support from local organisations and groups which worked with the school and broader community to develop and implement several impressive projects including the installation of a 10-panel hydro system capable of producing 3,000 bottles of water per month,” added Ms Langley.

Val Southam, Chief Executive Keep Australia Beautiful commended all the finalists in this year’s Awards.

“Entrants in the Sustainable Communities – Tidy Towns competition, who are largely volunteers, are some of the most dedicated and passionate people we are fortunate enough to be involved with.

“Every year, we are inspired by the high calibre of entries demonstrating enormous community pride and environmental action. This year, under such challenging circumstances, this dedication, community spirit and commitment truly shone through.”

The winners’ book and photographs are available at

Australian Sustainable Communities – Tidy Towns Winners Table 2020

Category Winner
Overall Winner Beechworth
Dame Phyllis Frost Litter Prevention Beechworth
Resource Recovery and Waste Management Mount Gambier
South Australia
Heritage and Culture Nhulunbuy
Northern Territory
Young Legends GROUP
Nhulunbuy Youth Council
Nhulunbuy, Northern Territory

Bella Burgemeister

Bunbury, Western Australia
Environmental Sustainability – Energy Beechworth
Environmental Sustainability – Water Murrurundi
New South Wales
Environmental Sustainability – Natural Environment Management Gympie
Environmental Communication and Engagement Beechworth
Community Health, Wellbeing and Interest JOINT WINNERS:
Bunbury, Western Australia