Published On: April 17th, 2019

Keep Australia Beautiful has announced the winners of the 2019 Australian Sustainable Communities -Tidy Towns Awards.

Running nationally since 1990, the Australian Sustainable Communities – Tidy Towns Awards have evolved to encompass projects and initiatives with a focus on environmental sustainability and resource management to reflect a growing awareness of the importance of community-led environmental action. They set out to recognise the hard work undertaken by individuals and groups in rural communities and share these best practices and ideas to continue to improve our vibrant rural towns. The awards consist of 10 special category awards followed by an overall National winner.

The NT finalist, Santa Teresa (Ltyentye Apurte) was announced as the overall winner of the 2019 Australian Sustainable Communities -Tidy Towns Awards, at an event hosted by last year’s winner Smithton, Tasmania on 5 April 2019.

The finalist for New South Wales, Cessnock was the winner of the Resource Recovery and Waste Management category.

Australian Sustainable Communities – Tidy Towns judge Gail Langleysaid, “The Cessnock Waste Management Centre Transfer Station is an outstanding example of resource recovery and waste management.”

Val Southam, Chief Executive and Executive Director, Keep Australia Beautiful said, “The finalists in the Sustainable Communities – Tidy Towns competition, who are largely volunteers, are some of the most dedicated and passionate people we are fortunate enough to be involved with. Every year we are inspired by the high calibre of entries demonstrating enormous community pride and environmental action and this year is no exception.”

The two-day event included a tour of Smithton that showcased some of the town’s excellent projects, which contributed to their win last year; highlights from Gail Langley’s judging tour; finalist’s presentations; as well as opportunities, which allowed representatives the chance to share information and network with like-minded communities from around Australia.

The winners book is available at